Skip to content

The Help by Kathryn Stockett – One Of My All-Time Favorite Books!

September 24, 2011
The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Unabridged CDs • 14 CDs, 17 hours

The book everyone is falling in love with . . .

A Great New Author To Watch
I did not grow up in the South, nor the USA for that matter, so this book provided a great insight into what some of the experiences of black maids in the South in the turbulent times of the 1960s (and before) would have been like. Whilst there will be some who might say this author did not present their story accurately or show their wrong treatment adequately, I found it a powerfully and well written glimpse into a life that I cannot possibly imagine. This is not a history book and those who want such a book, should look elsewhere. Those who want a great story about a time in history, will not be disappointed.

The main characters are so vividly portrayed, you feel you actually know them. This author has described the characters in such a way, I could picture them all in my head clearly, and I felt I knew them by the time the book ended. The story is captivating from the opening page, and held my attention through to the end; I didnt want the story to end in many ways, and tried to read more slowly to prolong the experience of this book.

I eagerly await what Kathryn Stockett will write next – she sure has a hard act to follow.

For More 5 Star Reviews and The Lowest Price Visit:
The Help by Kathryn Stockett

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

